Writing Entry 7:The Vagina Monologues

This Valentine’s Day I was fortunate enough to have good company, not to mention good entertainment. The Vagina Monologues, created by Eve Ensler is a risky assortment and collection of interviews about women and their vagina’s. Each monologue began similarly with hating their vagina and the unknown about “down there” but eventually the women came around and were able to express their new found “love” for their vagina — which is far more important and represents a larger meaning behind it than they ever pictured before.

There were some amusing monologues, but above all the most that stood out were the ones about violence. Rape and other awful things were mentioned and in the end we were asked to join the 1 billion standing against women violence. I felt it to be very important and knowing people who have been sexually abused, it made it a little easier to support what they were trying to get accross.

Living in a conservative town has it’s ups and downs. Putting on risky events such as The Vagina Monologues really gets people going. It’s just another way to censor what people don’t want to talk about but what is ever so obvious and important. I was once told that what your children don’t learn from you, they learn from the school bus. I think that is true in many ways. I first heard the “F” word on the bus from a kindergartner when I was in fifth grade. I was more horrified that I didn’t know the word than the fact that the little boy had said it. I’m no saying go around and blab a bunch of swear words to your kids, but I’m also not saying to hide them from the rest of the world.

The Vagina Monologues taught me to not be afraid of those words. They were created for a reason and they are there for us to teach.

I think everyone in their adult life should watch the Vagina Monologues. It really opens you up to a whole new comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

