We can do better.

Unfortunately not all Americans are born into wealth. Surprising right? Who would of thought that there are poor, unemployed, homeless, hungry, and dying Americans in America?

Like my sarcasm? Yeah. I’m trying to make a point. There are truly arrogant people out there, and unfortunately they live in the United States. The mindset that  people do actually have is exactly that. If it’s not directly effecting YOU it’s hard to imagine life any other way than safe, employed, sheltered, nourished and healthy. I understand that. But that’s no excuse to completely shut out the facts that there are people in need.

We hear the horror of malnourished people in Africa and we pray for them. We even have programs to help send food and money. Maybe we like a picture or a status on Facebook about a cause we agree with and do nothing more. That’s the reality of life.

What will it take for our own people in our own country to support legislative bills, laws, etc. to feed the poor? (food stamps)

If there is one thing I’ve noticed throughout politics is that Republicans (conservatives) use fear to get what they want.

And Democratics (liberals) use hope to get what they want.

I don’t know about you, but how would you want to lead. How do you want to follow our country?

I lead with hope. I lead with the hope of a better tomorrow. I lead with a dream that there aren’t people constantly trying to bring others down.

I know plenty of people who fight to get and stay on food stamps. Not because they want to use and abuse it. But because if they don’t fight for the right to have it, they won’t eat. Their children will starve.

Come on. We can do better.

It disgusts me that this bill in congress currently has the ability to cut 40 billion dollars from the program in the next decade, causing nearly 14 million people to be cut from the program by 2023. If it wasn’t already almost impossible for people who need food stamps to get them, it will most definitely only serve the poorest of the poor from here on out. There are plenty of people who have jobs, but also need food stamps. There isn’t just food to pay for. Bills are endless, and add up, and by the time they are payed for…food is still left. And that’s a scary thing. I can’t imagine worrying constantly about feeding my children. We don’t all have trust funds and inheritances.

I know that this president knows what it feels like to be poor. Good thing he does, because the people that need this program are going to need him on their side.

I know the argument that people on food stamps abuse it.

But what about those that don’t. That’s who I’m concerned about. My family members who need them. Who need them to survive. I know I did as a child growing up. My mother had food stamps. It wasn’t something we were proud of. But it was something we were proud to have. We were lucky. We could eat. And we didn’t ever worry about that.

But people in the future will. People worry now. It’s going to be even more chaos if this doesn’t turn out the way it needs to.

Thank goodness for Food Storage businesses that do the best they can to help feed. But I’m afraid that’s not going to cut it, if food stamps in cut so exponentially.

I hope congress gets it together. I hope they realize cutting can be found elsewhere.

We can’t be considered the wealthiest and greatest country if we won’t even feed our own people, insure them with the best health care, and shelter them at least.

One thought on “We can do better.

  1. “What will it take for our own people in our own country to support legislative bills, laws, etc. to feed the poor? (food stamps)”

    Those programs are in place and very easy for people who need them to get access to them. I know because I grew up in a household that used them. To say otherwise is said so out of ignorance.

    “I know that this president knows what it feels like to be poor. Good thing he does, because the people that need this program are going to need him on their side.”

    No he doesn’t. The president grew up in an upper-middle-class family. Maybe he tries to portray himself as a guy who grew up poor, but he did not.

    “I hope congress gets it together. I hope they realize cutting can be found elsewhere.”

    Now this I can agree with and I think it’s something you should consider doing some research on. President Obama is a proponent of war (just like George Bush was). He supports the Drone program, supports war in the middle east, supports keeping Guantanamo bay open, and is a continuation of the same foreign policy that got us here.

    I’m saying all this to open your eyes to the system. Both parties are the same. If they have you fooled otherwise then you will keep voting the same culprits into office.

Leave a Reply

