I’m trying to be like Jesus.

When I was a little girl I was a member of the LDS church, and we sang a song in primary:

“1. I’m trying to be like Jesus;I’m following in his ways.I’m trying to love as he did, in all that I do and say. At times I am tempted to make a wrong choice, But I try to listen as the still small voice whispers,

2. I’m trying to love my neighbor;I’m learning to serve my friends.I watch for the day of gladness when Jesus will come again.I try to remember the lessons he taught.Then the Holy Spirit enters into my thoughts, saying:

Chorus: Love one another as Jesus loves you. Try to show kindness in all that you do.Be gentle and loving in deed and in thought,For these are the things Jesus taught.”
 
It’s so simple, but so true. It’s what I picture as the epitome of what we as human beings can strive to be like.
Sometimes it’s good to go back to our childhood. It keeps us grounded. Sometimes we get caught up in all these things we are suppose to be, and forget who we are.
 
Whether we are walking down the street and see someone wearing a particular clothing item we dislike and smirk, or we are in the grocery store and glance toward two women, two men, or a man and a women holding hands (maybe even kissing) – and suddenly disgust flashes across our face – we are contributing to prejudice behavior. 

There are so many levels of prejudice acts, but none are acceptable; however, often they are overlooked and sometimes socially accepted to avoid the bigger problem.

Prejudice is not new. It’s been around as long as there were people alive.

We do it daily. And the more people that do it, the more it becomes known. And becomes a habit. But I promise it’s a habit worth breaking. It’s such a burden to bear worrying about what other people are doing or saying. This doesn’t mean we can’t have our own opinions about life. This here…this blog post…it’s an opinion. But I believe it’s shared with many, because I see movements in our history such as: the end of slavery, or women’s rights, or gay rights, etc. The list goes on. I don’t believe we will ever live in a world where someone somewhere isn’t constantly trying to bring others down. That’s just a part of life. But in my life and those I surround myself with. We choose not to cloud our minds with useless hurtful and harmful things.

I’d like to be a person that people feel they can come to and express themselves without judgement. And that is exactly the person I am devoting my time to be. It gives me such joy when a friend can proudly tell me a secret and not feel scared or hesitant, because they know my reaction will be something along the lines of this:

I’m happy for you.

I can elaborate depending on the situation, but I hope my point has been made.

I don’t want anyone to be hesitant toward me in anyway. I guess I want to be wide open for people. I guess I picture Jesus being this way. I picture him being this selfless person with a heart filled with acts of kindness. No judgement, and constantly comfort with the touch of his hands. I’d love to meet him. I’d love to tell him, I tried to be like you.

I had a friend stay with me over the summer for a short time, and I remember telling him “My place is your place.” I was trying to comfort him and help him relax. I know I’ve been in situations where I am a guest and I have anxiety about asking for something or afraid to even move without their permission. I wanted my friend to be able to open the fridge and take out some food and eat it without asking or wondering and keeping silent and having his stomach growl for the next few hours.

It makes me feel good as a person when someone can do something as simple as that. Open the door. Open the fridge. Sit down. Go to the bathroom. Whatever it is. It makes me happy to know they are comfortable. That’s my goal. And I guess this post has turned into more than prejudice stuff…but it can all tie into the person I’d like to be: 

Someone that you can trust. Someone who won’t judge. Someone who will offer time and services to help you. Someone who will do things simply from the heart because I want to, not because I have to. Someone who will smile in the hallway and not expect anything in return. Someone who will comfort you. Someone who will do favors for you. Someone who will drive hours away to pick you up in the middle of the night because you are stranded. Someone who will rub your feet after a long stressful day of work. Someone who will go out of their way to make you feel appreciated. 

That’s they kind of person I’d like to be, and who I am trying to be. Everyday I am given opportunities to be this person. And everyday I will do my best to try and choose the path that will lead me there. Somewhere where I am financially stable to do, and still passionate about accomplishing these things.

I’m trying to be more like Jesus. The Jesus I know in my heart.

Thanks for hearing me out.

Leave a Reply

