Dear friends, thank you.

Maybe it’s just that time of the year, but I’ve had the sudden urge to reach out to all the people in my life who have ever crossed paths with me, good or bad, and thank them.

Dear friends, thank you for any and everything. Thank you for spending time out of your life to do things for me to make my life a little more livable. How can I ever repay you?

It’s so easy to spend hours, days, months, maybe even years adding to the pile of crap we’ve all been victims of. And it’s probably one of the hardest things to burn that pile of crap and start building a beautiful work of art created from the goodness in our lives. 

I can’t count how many times I’ve allowed myself to add to my pile of crap.

It’s seriously so easy to do. It’s so easy to throw a pity party. And at times, it’s the only thing to do.

But it’s what we do after that shows the kind of person we are, and who we want to be.

I was once told that when we are working our way up to the “top” of the mountain, it won’t be an easy achievement — and it’s guaranteed that we will fall. We will trip and fall. It will be unexpected. And we will do everything in our power to prevent it. But it’s going to happen. And I always thought that when we fall, we fall hard and fast and all the way down to the very bottom where we started. But that’s where I was wrong. When we fall. We only fall so far. When we think we’re hitting rock bottom, we’re really only a few steps away, instead of at the bottom. And I think when we believe we’ve hit the bottom, we get really sad. We get down on ourselves. And our motivation is lost. And the more and more that this happens, the more reasons we have to give up. To tell ourselves it’s not worth it. 

But as I look at the optimistic part of falling. I see that it is never as bad as we make it out to be. And we will make it back to where we once were. And this time, we’ll be stronger, and wiser, and better individuals altogether. 

Anyway, back to thanking everyone who has ever made an impact in my life, big or small…THANK YOU. Seriously. You’ve made me a better person. You’ve changed my life in ways I can never fully thank you for. I seriously want nothing more than to spend time with you…but alas, life calls, and usually doesn’t ask permission to use up all our time. But thank you for your patience.

Every year I make a resolution to stay in touch. I want to be the kind of person who sends cards to everyone on their birthday. Or just to send a sweet little note to remind my loved ones that I’m still alive, and that I love them dearly 😉 But something happens. It’s called life. And one way or the other I talk myself out of it. If I can’t keep up for some reason due to the crazy beautiful life we live…I feel bad to give one person a card, and not another. I want to be fair. It’s one of my flaws, I guess. So again, I’ll try, but we’ll see. I’ll stay optimistic, and try not to fall too far behind.

I’m looking forward to the New Year. This year has honestly been one of the hardest years of my life. But it’s also been a year where I’ve learned so much about myself I never knew I was capable of.

And I can’t wait for the next trial life has in store for me, because I know in the end — I always come out with a new enlightened perspective.

Image

And I’m stronger. Vis Vires ❤

Leave a Reply

