Three little birds.

Image

Why did you get a tattoo?

The question of the month. For me.

I was the person four years ago shouting at the top of my lungs that I would NEVER get a tattoo.

I think I was simply scared. Scared of what others might think. But I’ve done a lot of changing over the years.

I have three birds flying high on my right ankle. My first tattoo, and I decided to put it on a bone. It hurt like I suppose 5 million bee stings would. But I managed. I just needed to remind myself to breathe deep.

There are three birds; therefore, there are three reasons I endured the pain of permanently inking my body.

#1: Strength.

There is a saying that goes a little something like this:
“Anyone can give up, it’s the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.” This is honestly the best way I can describe how I’ve lived most of my life. I believe I’ve been faced with challenges that most people never even catch a glimpse of. And that’s ok. I’ve learned to deal. I’ve also realized that my trials don’t even come close to some of the pain others have to bare. But I’m not trying to compete. I’m just trying to get perspective, that life is only as hard and easy as you make it to be. I make choices everyday that place me in situations that I get to decide how I react. And with my strength, that only gets stronger, I face each trial a little differently. And a little better. And in the end, I’m only stronger from it.
One bird belongs to my mother. It reminds me each day that she would want me to keep flying, even if she can’t.

#2: Freedom. 

There have been physical and mental restrictions in my life. There are things that I cannot control. And sometimes I feel as if I am behind bars. And there have been people in my life who I care truly and deeply about who have had to face the trial of actually being behind thick bars locking them out from the rest of the world. And it’s cold and dark. And color is limited. And life is poor. And I cannot do anything about it. But in recent events God has given meaning behind this particular trial. And I have gained a new perspective on how important and fragile our freedom is. I don’t ever want to take it for granted. And each day I will be brave and live freely.
One bird belongs to my father. It reminds me each day of the sacrifices he has made for my sister and I.

#3. Champion.

In my opinion, being a champion sometimes means doing things you don’t want to do, but you do them anyway. I have had to endure this kind of pressure before and I’ve struggled to accomplish the things asked of me sometimes. But my sister, is  the true definition of a champion. She is someone who stepped up to the plate even though she didn’t have to. And especially when she didn’t want to. But she has been my champion. She has rooted for me. And she has had to be the bad cop sometimes. And she’s been a support that has lifted me to places I never thought possible. I love her dearly. And I hope to be half of what she is someday. I could die happy.
One bird belongs to my sister. It reminds me each day that she always has my back, and will remain loyal and true. And will defend me until the end. She is my champion through and through.

The three birds represent my family and their greatest lessons they have taught me. I am forever in their debt. And that is why this tattoo will forever remain with these meanings. And I will never regret those lessons, no matter the pain I had to endure. It was the least I could do to endure the 20 minutes of torture on my skin to remind me of the pain I’ve been through in my life and surely will continue to. But with strength, freedom, and my champion — I will be just fine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

