Why I don’t need a Straight Pride Parade

I’m not a very traditional person. As a little girl I’d much rather climb trees than dream of my fairytale princess wedding. But in the back of my head I always new I could have one when I was ready. When I found a man I could share my life with and call my best friend. To this day, I still don’t want a fairytale princess wedding, but the idea that I could, if I wanted, is something I wish all my friends could experience. And now, with the new Supreme Court rulings in the USA, that’s becoming more of a reality by the second.

I can’t even describe how excited I am for this breakthrough in the LGBTQA community. Maybe not every homosexual person dreams of getting married, but at least it’s no longer just a dream. And that’s huge progress for America.

I often hear people make the argument that gay pride is such an overdone thing. In my opinion, it can never be too big. And sometimes it’s not big enough. I also hear the complaints that straight people should get parades or have some sort of pride community.

Guess what? New flash. Straight people have never had to battle the way gay people have when it comes to marriage and other similar rights. Sure, interracial marriage was a problem 50 some odd years ago…and there will always be people who disapprove, but religious institutions, for a lack of a better term, “got over it” because at least it was between a man and a woman. But now, or in the last 10-15 years, it has become apparent that gay people want to share their lives with their lovers, too. In a legal way. In a recognized way.

So that’s where pride comes into play. Everyday they are fighting for their beliefs. Their marriage licenses. Their rights. Their human rights. Their lives. And everyday they need to be present in this battle and remind the world that they are here. And they’re not going anywhere. And they’ve been around for as long as the human race has existed. But we are finally in a place in time where the homosexual community can fight back.

I’ve never needed a Straight Pride Parade, because society has been on my side for forever. I want to be on the right side of history and not only tolerate, but support and be joyful for those who are finally getting their fairytale weddings.

Congratulations! It makes me happy to know that my friends and family can marry whoever they choose.

Leave a Reply

